ArACTE logoThe Arkansas Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (ArACTE) is a state affiliate of the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE). All regionally accredited colleges and universities of Arkansas which have membership in AACTE and are engaged in preparation of professional school personnel and which have state program approval are eligible for membership. All other regionally or state-accredited colleges and universities in Arkansas which are non-AACTE member institutions will be eligible for affiliate membership.

Our purpose is to support and provide leadership in the education of professional school personnel in Arkansas.


The Deans from our Member Institutions meet monthly to discuss various policies that might impact teacher preparation. 

Read More


Our annual conference is an opportunity for education faculty to display current research in the field of education.

Read More


We post publications on this site from education faculty across the state. These publications look at various topics that are prevalent in the field of education preparation. 

Read More

Institution Members

The following institutions are current members of ArACTE.

  • Arkansas State University
  • Arkansas Tech
  • Harding University
  • Henderson State University
  • John Brown University
  • Lyon College
  • Ouachita Baptist University
  • Philander Smith College
  • Southern Arkansas University
  • University of Arkanasas - Fayetteville
  • University of Arkansas-Fort Smith
  • University of Arkansas - Little Rock
  • University of Arkansas - Monticello
  • University of Arkansas - Pine Bluff
  • University of Central Arkansas
  • University of the Ozarks

related organizations

ArACTE is proud to be a member of AACTE and NCATE.

AACTE logo     NCATE logo

  • AILACTE - Association of Independent Liberal Arts Colleges for Teacher Education
  • CADREI - The Council of Academic Deans from Research Education Institutions
  • TECSCU - The Teacher Education Council of State Colleges and Universities
  • ADE - Arkansas Department of Education
  • ADHE - Arkansas Department of Higher Education
  • ATE - Association of Teacher Educators